Now that the most anticipated albums for this year are known to MetalBear’s dear audience (at least Vol. 1 of these series as there is currently no release info on albums due to come out in the second half of the year), let’s explore what gigs I am eagerly looking forward to in 2024. Before we move on to the list below, I just wanted to highlight a noteworthy fact: this is shaping up to be the year of Firsts for MetalBear when it comes to gigs of a number of very, very favorite metal artists of mine.

INSOMNIUM (First Time; Wacken 2024)

My Wacken debut took place back in 2014. From then on, I went to every single Wacken edition with the exception of last year’s one. With 7 Wackens under my belt, it is quite puzzling to my Bearish mind as to how I’ve still never seen Insomnium live to this date. In my defense, they’ve been to only one Wacken between 2014 and 2022, and in all honesty, I have no recollection what I was up to at the time they were on stage in 2017. Anyway, seeing these MeloDeath masters live has been a dream of mine for some time now and I am beyond exhilarated that I will get the chance to do so in 6 months from now (at least that’s the plan). The one track I strongly hope to be included in the setlist? – Lilian.

UNLEASH THE ARCHERS (First Time; Wacken 2024)

I discovered UtA with their 2017 release “Apex” which totally blew me away and I instantly developed the urge to see this wildly talented Canadian act live. Unfortunately, over the past 7 years there were very few opportunities to see them live over here in Europe. With Wacken including them in their lineup for this year, I’ll get to finally show my immense respect to this fantastic band by headbanging my Bearish head away. The one track I hope to see live? – Earth and Ashes.

WOLFHEART (First Time; Local Forest Gig)

I can already feel the brutal, but totally worth-it pain in my Bearish neck 3 months before this event has actually taken place because it is the half-human/half-monstrous-guitar-riff demigod Tuomas Saukkonen I am about to see live. Well him and the awesome crew he has assembled under the Wolfheart banner. This will be a total debut for me in terms of Saukkonen-related projects as the man is insanely productive (check out the Top 30 Albums in 2023 post for exact data on the matter). But it will sure be as epic as it can get. The track I long to see live? – Ashes.

SUOTANA (First Time; Local Forest Gig)

Now this one is truly a rare gem, especially when it comes to live gigs far from their homeland, and I am extremely thankful to the local forest that is my habitat for being actually quite generous when it comes to metal gigs. Suotana are AWESOME and I can’t wait to go full Bear-mode in just two months from now. The one track? – Troutrace (the lyrics are sheer brilliance; a must listen simply).

AEPHENAMER (First Time; Local Forest Gig)

From an instrumental standpoint, I will make a bold claim here (for whoever is unfamiliar with this mind-blowing metal outfit from France): Aephenamer are in the top 5% worldwide in terms of instrumental magnificence galore. The blend of symphonic and melodic death metal these guys are delivering is just outrageously sublime. Just check this track I definitely hope to hear live next month (but any other tune is of this phenomenal level instrumentally): The Sovereign.

FLOTSAM & JETSAM (First Time; Wacken 2024)

I only got into these Thrash Metal veterans very recently and immediately came to regret all the opportunities missed over the years to see them live. Good thing the plan is to rectify this in August. The one song? – Blood In The Water.

TESTAMENT (Seen Before; Wacken 2024)

When the name is so freakin’ paramount that even MetalBear’s words are meaningless. The one track? – The Pale King.

SOEN (Seen Before; Local Forest Gig)

I was truly impressed by Soen when I saw them live for the first time two years ago which also remains the only time I’ve attended a gig of theirs. Looking forward to seeing them again towards the end of the year and find out if they will deliver an even better performance this time around in a more intimate setting (as playing at Wacken is anything but intimate setting-wise). The song that they will almost definitely play and which will also definitely make MetalBear happy – The Antagonist.

This is all for now, Metal Folks. If any of the dear readers here are planning to attend Wacken this year, I’d be happy to have a beer or two and chat away about all things metal. I will be probably wearing a MetalBear branded shirt which might help with the mission of identifying a total stranger in an 80K crowd and in the unlikely event that happens, let’s grab that beer. Feel free to share in the comments below any gigs you are eagerly looking forward to or any bands you’d definitely recommend seeing live.

Leave a comment